Can't find what you're looking for? Just give us a call 01462 475900 / e-mail

Telefís - a Dó

Telefís - a Dó

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.

CD due for release 7th October 2022 via Dimple Discs
Ltd Blue LP due out 20th January 2023 via Dimple Discs

Telefís is Cathal Coughlan & Jacknife Lee. Features guest appearances from Sean O'Hagan, Will Sergeant, A Certain Ratio and Jah Wobble.

Telefís, the groundbreaking collaboration between two Irish iconoclasts, revered singer-songwriter Cathal Coughlan and world-renowned producer Garret "Jacknife" Lee, will release their second album "a Dó" (number two) on October 7th. Following the release of "a hAon" (number one) in March 2022, Cathal and Jacknife continued to work on music and completed the record at the end of Spring. Then sadly Cathal Coughlan died on May 18th. Their debut album 'a hAon' was widely acclaimed by the UK and Irish press and received national radio play on 6Music, Radio X, RTE, Newstalk, and dozens of other outlets. The album playfully dissected the early days of Irish society in the TV era through a prism of electronic dance music, drawing on what they saw as a 'corrosive nostalgia'. It also paid homage to their musical heroes of the punk and post-punk era. Kraftwerk fighting with The Human League for a parking spot on Capel Street.

But amongst the muscular beats and distressed synth stabs there were also strange ballads, haunting melodies and somber reflections. 'a Dó' continues to broaden these sonic horizons and opens up the band's output to outside collaborators. We have guest appearances from Cathal's longtime friend and Microdisney co-founder and High Llamas main man Sean O'Hagan on the first single "Space Is Us", Echo & The Bunnymen's Will Sergeant guests on two tracks, legendary Mancunians A Certain Ratio on another. The inimitable Jah Wobble also contributes bass smarts following his dub odyssey with the band on their single "Falun Gong Dancer" earlier this year.

As with the first album, national UK and Irish press and radio will be solicited from all the key outlets, with a series of excellent singles leading the charge, accompanied by arresting visuals and videos created by Jacknife Lee.

This album will stand testament to the ingenuity of Cathal Coughlan, one of Ireland's most revered singer-songwriters, lyricists, commentators and polymaths. RIP.


Praise for the first album 'a hAon'

"It's an outstanding set that draws equally on Coughlan's formidable songwriting gifts and Lee's experience as heavyweight producer of best-selling albums by the likes of Snow Patrol, REM, Weezer and U2" - The Irish Times

 " entralling, entertaining union of skilful retro-electro and cuttingly cynical mischievously surreal declarations amounting to a 'corrosive nostalgia' for 70s Eire" - MOJO 

Track Listing

  1. Seo É Glór Na Teilifíse
  2. Swinging at the Hypnodrome
  3. Space is Us (with Sean O'Hagan)
  4. Stock Photo Guy (with A Certain Ratio)
  5. Hare Coursing in Mayfair
  6. Airstrip
  7. The Age Of Cling (with Will Sergeant)
  8. The Casiotone Angelus
  9. Strawboy Supernova
  10. Feed The Light
  11. We See Showbands
  12. The Carthagians
  13. Circling Over Shannon (with Jah Wobble)
  14. On A Country Road