Can't find what you're looking for? Just give us a call 01462 475900 / e-mail

Forest Swords - Bolted
Forest Swords - Bolted
Forest Swords - Bolted
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Forest Swords - Bolted
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Forest Swords - Bolted
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Forest Swords - Bolted

Forest Swords - Bolted

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.

Due for release 20th October 2023 via Ninja Tune

CD / Std Translucent Algae Green LP (+ 12" print) / Deluxe Light Indigo LP (+ 12" print) / Ltd Dinked Edition No. 259 LP

Dinked Edition features:

  • Translucent & marbled algae green vinyl 
  • Alternative artwork over sleeve designed by Forest Swords 
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • 12 page artwork booklet
  • Double-sided 12”x12” art print
  • Hand signed
  • Limited pressing of 400

Forest Swords (aka electronic producer/composer Matthew Barnes) returns. Having spent the past few years working as an in-demand composer and sound designer – writing music for ballet, film and video games – 'Bolted' was recorded over the last twelve months in Barnes’ home city of Liverpool. His ad hoc studio in a former vehicle and munitions factory (with connections to shadowy guerilla artists The KLF) became a gateway for him to explore, using a combination of hardware, software and tape machines to mould and sculpt a sound world for the album. Across its 11 tracks he dives deeper into his unique sonic vocabulary (including personal samples of Neneh Cherry and the late Lee Scratch Perry) to weave together a set of tracks that sounds equally muscular and bleak, haunting and euphoric. While his previous album – the acclaimed 'Compassion' released in 2017 – saw Barnes toy with widescreen technicolour, the world of ‘Bolted’ is tightly wound, taught, with a sense of aching urgency like never before. 

Recommended if you like… Aphex Twin, Björk, Oneohtrix Point Never, Andy Stott, Boards of Canada, Burial, Massive Attack.

Side A

  1. Munitions 
  2. Butterfly Effect
  3. Rubble
  4. Night Sculpture
  5. Caged
  6. Tar

Side B

  1. The Low
  2. Chain Link
  3. Hjope
  4. End 
  5. Line Gone Cold


Art direction and design by Forest Swords. Mastered by Matt Colton.